For almost two centuries DTU, Technical University of Denmark, has been dedicated to fulfilling the vision of H.C. Ørsted – the father of electromagnetism – who founded the university in 1829 to develop and create value using the natural sciences and the technical sciences to benefit society.

The Department of Energy Conversion and Storage (DTU Energy) was founded in 2012 after a merger of groups from former Risø National Laboratory and Department of Chemistry with the aim of creating a strong research and teaching environment within energy conversion at DTU.

The department has around 200 employees. Research and development within functional materials and electrochemistry are key competences and the main technologies are batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers (SOEC, PEMEC and AEC) and novel systems for power-to-X (including CO2 conversion).

Main Tasks in the Project ECO2Fuel

  • Lead the work on the 1st phase membrane development in WP4
  • Characterize membranes with respect to structure, transport properties and stability
  • Develop techniques for modification and reinforcement of membranes